thankful thursday

I can’t believe I have been in Los Angeles for four weeks now. Time is really flying by and life is happening so fast, but I am trying to soak up and appreciate every minute of it.

Since so much has been happening lately it has really made me take a couple steps back and reflect on my situation and everything that is going on around me. Before coming to California I had been in a really tough spot. A lot was happening in my life in Washington, and there were points that I thought I was not going to be able to get out of the hole I was in. Coming to California was one of the most challenging and impulsive decisions I had ever made. Those who know me know that it is not like me to go out of my comfort zone at all. This change has been one of the biggest blessings!

Not being here long, I currently have a job AND an internship! The first week and a half of me being here I was ready to go home because I felt so discouraged that nothing was happening. I was sick of sitting around. BUT blessings kept falling in my lap. Thank you Chance the Rapper for keeping me motivated haha!

BUT HERE IS WHY I AM FEELING SO THANKFUL TODAY;

So many things have reminded me of why I should never complain about things in my life. Because in all honesty, people really do have it harder than you when you sit in think about your own life. Los Angeles is a place of independence, at least where I am in WeHo. Not everyone cares about what you have to say or how your day is going. I have had so many people say to me “You’re not in Washington anymore” and they could not be any more accurate.

Coming here I did not have a plan, it was just to simply hop on a plane and try to make something happen for myself. If it were not for the support of my family I would already be back in Washington. I give ALL the credit to my wonderful mother for getting me here. We shared a bottle of wine, and she told me I just needed to go. It didn’t matter what I did, but to simply go be my own woman in a new place. And days later I bought a one-way ticket. Mommy if you ever read this know that I am forever grateful for you and I love you more than you know. My family truly is my rock. Being alone in a city with only a few familiar faces gets really hard. Simply knowing that hundreds of miles away I have people who have never questioned my decision and simply supported my new adventure makes it much easier. SO FAM I LOVE Y’ALL. 

Here’s a little insight about myself; I have a tendency to become extremely complacent. Especially at school. Living in such a small town it is easy to get comfortable doing the same old things and not look forward. Sad to say that was most of college for me. Yes I had fun and enjoyed my time but never really pushed myself for more. It really wasn’t until this last year that I threw the towel in and told myself that I could not be stuck in all that I was feeling down about. Within the last year I decided to pursue a minor that would change my whole perspective on a career and how to challenge myself to always have a “create your own opportunities” type of mindset. Thank you Bill and Lawrence. It’s the big dream to become a successful entrepreneur, and now I am interning with two VERY successful entrepreneurs in the fashion industry. I AM EXTREMELY EXCITED!

Speaking of school, I have been immensely thankful for that lately. I love that Facebook has that thing that reminds you of your old memories, thanks Mark Zuckerberg for that! A couple day’s ago it showed me that four years ago I had posted a status after I had come home from my college orientation. It was such a bittersweet feeling. I remember everything about those two days, and little did I know that was a moment that would change my life forever. It has been a roller coaster the last four years, but I am so thankful that I ended up at Central. I have learned so much, met so many people, and made so many memories. I can’t wait to finish my last year of school, and move on to what is next but I will never forget everything I did there.

SO, I am thankful for all of it. The highs. The lows. The blessings. The lessons. The setbacks. The comebacks. The love. The hate. Everything. 

See ya later,

LoveLeaptrot

Leave a Reply

